top of page

QuickBooks Online Integration (beta)

  • Writer: Support
    Support
  • Jul 29
  • 3 min read

This tutorial will cover our QuickBooks Online Integration (beta). Since it is in beta it is not guaranteed to work 100% and all bugs should be reported immediately.


Connect


You must begin by granting Retreat Portal access to your QuickBooks Online account.

Click the gear icon in the top right, then Account > QuickBooks Online



Then click the 'Connect' button.



You will be redirected to the QuickBooks online login page. Only someone with credentials may log in. Once logged in you may be asked to link Retreat Portal with your QuickBooks account. If so, then click "Connect".

Once you log in and/or click Connect you will be directed back to Retreat Portal. On the QuickBooks Online page click the 'Test' button and you should see your company names, as it appears in QuickBooks Online, in the section to the left.



Configure


You can optionally map Retreat Portal products/services to your QuickBooks Online Products and Services. Click the 'Change' link for the respective Retreat Portal products/services and then find the corresponding product/service in QuickBooks Online.


In the pop-up dialog you may have to click the 'Import' button. When you see the list of options click 'Select' for the appropriate Product/Service.


Link an Invoice


When you view an invoice in Retreat Portal you’ll see two options. The first is ‘Link to QuickBooks’ in the ‘Prepared for’ section. The second is a ‘Send to QuickBooks’ button at the bottom of the invoice.


Click ‘Send to QuickBooks’ and you’ll get a notice reminding you that if the invoice does not exist in QuickBooks Online, then the invoice is created. If the invoice does already exist, then the invoice in QuickBooks is updated with what is in Retreat Portal. You will lose any changes you made to the invoice in QuickBooks Online.


Click OK to proceed.


Once an invoice is sent to QuickBooks, then the options change. You will then be able to update the invoice or unlink the invoice. By unlinking you effectively separate the link between Retreat Portal and QuickBooks Online which means sending the invoice to QuickBooks Online again will result in a new invoice. The contact information is also automatically linked to QuickBooks as well if it hadn’t been previously linked.


If you go to QuickBooks Online and view the Sales > Invoices, then you will see the new invoice in QuickBooks Online.


If you click the Edit link, then you’ll notice the customer information and line items match what is in Retreat Portal.


A few items to remember.

  • There is no mechanism to import invoices from QuickBooks Online into Retreat Portal.

  • Changes to a linked invoice in QuickBooks Online cannot be synchronized back into Retreat Portal.

  • Changes to an invoice in Retreat Portal are not automatically pushed to QuickBooks Online, you must manually click the ‘Update QuickBooks invoice…’ button on an invoice. Any changes to the invoice in QuickBooks Online are lost and replaced with what is in Retreat Portal.


Linking Contact Information


The contact (guest and group) information in Retreat Portal will likely overlap with contact (customer) information you have in QuickBooks Online. To help eliminate duplication you can explicitly link guest/group records to customers in QuickBooks Online.


Click the ‘Change QuickBooks Link’ or ‘Link to QuickBooks’ next to a guest/group name.

The new page that pops up will let you search the customer records in your QuickBooks Online account. Type a name, then click Search. When you find the customer you want to link, then click ‘Link with this Customer’ link.


If you can’t find a customer in QuickBooks Online, then click the ‘Create in QuickBooks’ which will create a new customer in QuickBooks Online with the same information that is in Retreat Portal and link the two together.


Important - this is no automatic synchronization between Retreat Portal guest/group information and QuickBooks Online customer records. For example, if the name, address, email information changes in one place it will not change in the other.

Recent Posts

See All
Front Desk Registration Workflow

This tutorial will walk through how to register a guest for a program. This will focus on what a front desk worker would perform, but really any manual guest registration would follow the same path. F

 
 
 
Security Changes to RM Cloud

Due to an April Security update from Microsoft there are changes to how you connect to Retreat Manager Cloud. When you open RM you'll now be asked to allow RM to access certain local resources. It is

 
 
 
Uninstall Retreat Manager Cloud

This tutorial walks you through the steps of uninstalling Retreat Manager Cloud which will allow you to install Retreat Manager Cloud again with a new account. Right-click the Retreat Manager icon on

 
 
 

Comments


bottom of page