• Support

User Management

Updated: Mar 31

In this tutorial we'll go over a few features:

  • Accessing User Management

  • Viewing user details

  • Creating new users

  • Understanding the roles in Retreat Portal

  • Editing a user

  • Deleting a user

  • Resting a user's password

First, log in to your Retreat Portal Console:

http://<orgid>.retreatportal.com/console

Click the icon in the top left window, then choose Administration > User Management



Viewing user details

The table shows you details of all users of your Retreat Portal which have the same or lower role. For example, a user who has the Administrator role can see other users with the Administrator role, Staff role, or any other role. A user with the Staff role can not see users with the Administrator role.

The following details are available:

  • Username

  • Email

  • Role

  • Last Login (shown in local time)

  • First Name

  • Last Name

  • When the password was changed and who changed it

  • Which Hosted Groups the user is allowed to manage in the Hosted Group Portal


Creating new users

Click the Create button in the user table.


In the User Details window enter the required information then click the Create button.

  • Username Must be unique

  • Email An email is sent to the user's email address allowing them to set their password and log in to the features their role grants them access to. The same email may be used for multiple users.

  • Role The role being granted to the user.

  • First Name The user's first name.

  • Last Name The user's last name.

  • Enabled Whether the user's account is enabled or not. Default is Yes.

  • Locked Whether the user's account is locked or not. Default is No.

Roles in Retreat Portal

Retreat Portal uses roles to determine the functionality available to a given user.

  • Administrator This role grants the user considerable access to many features of Retreat Portal. This includes any of the access privileges of all other roles.

  • Staff - All This role is meant for the day-to-day users of Retreat Portal. This includes any of the access privileges of all other roles listed below.

  • Staff - Cleaning This role grants the user access to the Retreat Portal Cleaning Application.

  • Staff - Kitchen This role grants the user access to the Retreat Portal Kitchen Application.

  • External - Group Contact This role grans the user access to the Hosted Group Portal. It is meant to be assigned to individuals who manage hosted groups.

  • External - Spiritual Director This role grans the user access to the Spiritual Direction Portal. It is meant to be assigned to individuals who are spiritual directors.

Editing a user

In the table listing all users click the Edit link for the user you wish to edit.


In the User Details window edit the desired information then click the Apply Changes button.

  • Username May not be edited.

  • Email An email is sent to the user's email address allowing them to set their password and log in to the features their role grants them access to. The same email may be used for multiple users.

  • Role The role being granted to the user.

  • First Name The user's first name.

  • Last Name The user's last name.

  • Enabled Whether the user's account is enabled or not. Default is Yes.

  • Locked Whether the user's account is locked or not. Default is No.

Deleting a user

In the table listing all users click the Edit link for the user you wish to edit.


In the User Details window click the Delete button to delete the user.

Deleting a user cannot be undone.

If you're seeking to eliminate access for a user consider changing the Enabled setting for the user to be No. Or changing the Locked setting to Yes.


Reseting a user's password

In the table listing all users click the Reset Password link for the user whose password you wish to have reset.


If you want the user to specify their own password, then simply click the Submit button and the email address for that user will be sent an email with a link to set a new password. This is the preferred way to manage passwords for users.


If you want to specify the password the user, then click Yes in the Specify Password slider and type the user's new password and click Submit. This is a less secure way of managing passwords for users and should be avoided.

Recent Posts

See All

Creating Hosted Group Managers

Hosted group managers belong to organizations outside of your retreat center. Granting these individuals access to the Hosted Group Portal allows them to perform certain self-service operations like a